Skip to main content

SCAP Members

The State Commission Assessment Panel (SCAP) is an assessment panel whose seven Members are appointed by the State Planning Commission.

The SCAP Members are selected from various fields of expertise which are designated in the Development Act. Both the Presiding Member and the Deputy Presiding Member must have qualifications and experience in urban and regional planning, building, environmental management, or a related discipline appropriate to their duties, while the other members are selected from a range of backgrounds or experience.

SCAP members were appointed by the State Planning Commission for the term 1 August 2017 to and including 30 November 2018.

Code of Conduct

SCAP members are bound by the Minister's Code of Conduct. More information on the Code and how it is applied can be found here: Code of Conduct


From 1 August 2017 - 30 November 2018, the seven Members  are:

Photo of Simone Fogarty

Simone Fogarty

Presiding Member

1 August 2017 - 30 November 2018


Simone is an urban and environmental planner with a wide range of experience in both the public and private sectors that spans 29 years of practice. She is a Fellow Member of her profession and has extensive experience in strategic planning, policy development and project assessment. She has qualifications in urban and regional planning as well as environmental science and marketing. She has undertaken a wide range of projects dealing with complex economic, social, environmental and development issues. As such she has a wide appreciation of the factors that influence our built and natural environment and the infrastructure and services needed to support it.

She was instrumental in addressing a wide range of urban and regional policy issues in her role as Director, Policy in the then planning department. In 2014 she was selected by the Planning Minister to work with a five person panel charged with the responsibility of undertaking a review of the SA Planning System. The recommendations of which are currently being implemented.

Photo of Helen Dyer

Helen Dyer

Deputy Presiding Member

1 August 2017 - 30 November 2018


Helen is an experienced Non-Executive and Executive Director, Chair and Local Government CEO with expertise in Strategy, Governance and Marketing both in the private and public sectors.

Helen started her career as a town planner in Darwin.  Returning to South Australia she worked in the State planning department and the South Australian Tourism Commission.  Helen concluded her time in the State Government as a Ministerial Adviser to the Planning Minister, before moving to Local Government including time as the CEO at both Walkerville and Mitcham.  In 2016 Helen established Holmes Dyer with Stephen Holmes with the specific intent of providing bespoke outcomes addressing client’s specific needs.

Photo of David O'Loughlin

David O'Loughlin


1 August 2017 - 30 November 2018


Highly regarded as a leader in the Local Government sector, David has also enjoyed a successful career in the construction and development industry for over 30 years. Elected in 2003 to the City of Prospect, and as Mayor in 2006, he continues to champion economic development, community activation, regional service sharing, boundary reform and planning reforms. Drawing on his regional and metropolitan experience, he was elected State President of the Local Government Association in 2013 and currently serves as National President of the Australian Local Government Association, representing the sector at the highest levels.

Photo of Chris Branford

Chris Branford


1 August 2017 - 30 November 2018


Chris is a Planner and Urban Designer with over 30 years experience in urban development delivery. He spent over 24 years with Delfin Lend Lease, working on some of Australia’s most renowned urban development projects, including a range of Project Management and leadership roles. In February 2012 he established Branford Planning + Design which provides a broad range of specialist skills including urban design, master planning, project management and feasibility analysis.

Photo of Peter Dungey

Peter Dungey


1 August 2017 - 30 November 2018


Peter is an architect and urban designer. His career has encompassed public and private architectural practice, strategic public realm projects and programs and the formulation of planning and urban design policy.

He is the recipient of numerous professional awards and brings critiquing skills developed over four decades of involvement in design practice, design education, design review and development assessment.

Photo of Dennis Mutton

Dennis Mutton


1 August 2017 - 30 November 2018


Dennis is an independent consultant and Board director with expertise in natural resource management, primary industries, regional development and government, business, and community relationships. His career has included executive management roles in both the private and public sector including 15 years as CEO of a range of Government Agencies in South Australia. He remains active in building leadership and strategic capability within business and the community.

Photo of Sue Crafter

Sue Crafter


1 August 2017 - 30 November 2018


Sue currently holds the official positions of Honorary French Consul for South Australia and member State Commission Assessment Panel (SCAP) formerly the Development Assessment Commission.  Appointment to the position of Honorary French Consul is made by the French Government and Sue has held this position since June 2012.

Prior to this Sue enjoyed a career of some 30 years in many aspects of urban planning and development, including Founder and inaugural CEO and Board Member Common Ground Ltd, and senior roles in Housing SA, Urban Pacific Limited, SA Planning Review 1991, Department of Housing and Urban Development, and the Urban Land Trust (SAULT) now Urban Renewal Authority.  In a number of these roles, the social planning work undertaken with the SA Urban Land Trust, the SA Planning Review and Common Ground Ltd, established SA as a national leader in these fields.

Sue has also been appointed to a number of private and government Boards and Committees.